At the Corner of 1st and X
The Blue Ox campus is like a Frankenstenian paradise. Once, hundreds of lumber mills lined the bay. As their doors closed, hulking pieces of equipment made the move to the corner of 1st and X Street. Logging skid camps, giant circular saws and the shells of old Victorian homes loom in the darkness. For 11 months out of the year, no one wants to be caught there at night.
The main building was Eureka’s first power plant, commissioned in 1904, it has also had stints as a trolley depot and a boatworks. It was abandoned when the Blue Ox took up residence in the 1970s.